Displaying items by tag: Hefeweizen

A Few Great Beers to Pair with Thanksgiving Dinner

In just a few short days, most of us will embark on one of the quintessential events of the American experience: heading home for a 2-3 day death-march of way too much food, family, and football. Yes, it's Thanksgiving, the time to remember how thankful we are for our family, and that we don't live with them every other day of the year as well. As far as the food, Thanksgiving dinners can either be delicious and savory or poorly seasoned and boring--there seems to rarely be an in-between.

However the dinner is where you're going, you're likely going to need (we strongly encourage it, anyway) a few beers to help you survive, especially while watching the Lions. So, we thought we would put together a beer drinking guide to Thanksgiving, a couple beers to sip on throughout the day and then a few to go with each of courses in the traditional Thanksgiving meal. We hope you find it useful and wish you safe and happy travels wherever you're headed this week.
Published in Seasonal Beers

Grand Rapid’s New Mitten Brewing Co. Currently Offering “Sneak Peak” For Fans of Baseball and Beer

Opening a baseball-themed brewery during the World Series guaranteed capacity crowds for their debut weekend, and indeed there was literally a line out the door for their first night. Recently recruited brewmaster Robert “Wob” Wanhatalo (formerly of Hideout,) could be seen meeting and greeting the many new patrons at the door. The location is an extensively renovated old fire barn on Leonard NW, near downtown Grand Rapids.
Published in Brewery Reviews