Thursday, November 01, 2012

Grand Rapid’s New Mitten Brewing Co. Currently Offering “Sneak Peak” For Fans of Baseball and Beer

Written by  Dan VanderKooi
Rate this item
(4 votes)

Grand Rapid’s New Mitten Brewing Co. Currently Offering “Sneak Peak” For Fans of Baseball and Beer

Opening a baseball-themed brewery during the World Series guaranteed capacity crowds for their debut weekend, and indeed there was literally a line out the door for their first night. Recently recruited brewmaster Robert “Wob” Wanhatalo (formerly of Hideout,) could be seen meeting and greeting the many new patrons at the door. The location is an extensively renovated old fire barn on Leonard NW, near downtown Grand Rapids.
The soft opening featured a limited menu of 3 beers along with 3 pizzas. The initial beer offerings are their signature Peanut and Crackjack Porter, along with a pale ale and hefeweizen. The initial pizzas offered are a Pesto, Vegetarian and BBQ. All pizzas are also available with vegetarian and vegan options including a new Vegan Honey Chipotle Pizza. The Peanut Porter proved to be delicious and my friends and I also enjoyed the hefeweizen along with the Vegetarian pizza.

Since opening, Mitten Brewing has already added a new tap to the lineup, an Amber Ale brewed for the new beer city Grand Pumpkin collaboration. A heavy stout is also in the works. Current hours are 6 PM until midnight but the hours, taps, and food menu will all soon be expanded with a Grand Opening event tentatively scheduled for later this month. Mitten Brewing Co. already has plenty to offer for those anxious to get in on the “sneak peak” and watch some baseball with some microbrews.

Dan VanderKooi

Dan VanderKooi

Dan VK has been following the Michigan Craft Beer scene since before Oberon has been available in 6-packs. Besides making the rounds at all the local craft breweries and beer bars, Dan also supports the local music scene, reads crime fiction, and enjoys playing volleyball with his wife and friends.